I joined a karate dojo today

May 12, 2011 at 9:55 am Leave a comment

The title of the post says it all, really, and although it has absolutely nothing to do with food, I couldn’t resist posting about it.

Confession: I have wanted to learn karate ever since I was a kid. Living in small-town Oklahoma didn’t leave me with too many options as a kid, however, so I never really got the chance to pursue it.

Recently, however, I saw an ad in a local magazine for a nearby (i.e. within biking distance) dojo that was having a special discount on the joining fee and uniform. I checked out the website, liked what I saw, showed it to Hisa, and we decided to go watch one of the adult classes last Saturday evening.

We both liked what we saw. The class consisted of all different people; young, old, men, women, beginners, black belts, etc. The teacher seemed firm, but friendly at the same time (not drill sargent scary), and the students themselves had a kind of buddy buddy atmosphere. We both decided we’d like to try it, but Hisa said he doesn’t really have time right now because of his work, but that I could join if I wanted.

So I decided I to join. I got the application form before leaving, and yesterday evening, we both went back so I could register and fill out more paperwork and get my uniform.

Did I mention I’m pretty psyched about this?

In case you’re wondering, the belt has my name written on it in Japanese. I’m a beginner, so I have a white belt.

Today is the first class I’ll actually be participating in, so I’m both excited and a little nervous. Mainly excited though.

Wish me luck.

So that this post actually has something related to food in it, I’ll tell you about two recipes I really want to try.

I’ve been havin’ me some major chocolate cravings yesterday and today, and let me just say, when you’re craving chocolate, reading food blogs is a BAD idea. I repeat, BAD! Because you will find pictures and recipes that will cause you pain like these:

See what I mean? This is a Turtle Cheesecake by The Girl Who Ate Everything. I started drooling when I saw this picture.

I had to stop myself from licking my computer screen when I saw this. These are Knock You Naked Brownies by The Pioneer Woman. I love that name. And I love the Pioneer Woman. Even now though, it is physically painful to look at this picture and know that these are not sitting in my kitchen right now.

I feel some brownie baking coming on…

After my karate class of course.

Wax on…wax off…

Entry filed under: Desserts, Life. Tags: , , .

Jambalaya Menu Plan Monday (May 16 – 20)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives


