Jambalaya

May 11, 2011 at 9:41 am 3 comments

Sometime last year I decided I wanted to cook jambalaya. As you might expect, Cajun food isn’t exactly easy to find in Japan, and since most Japanese people don’t like spicy food, I kinda doubt it would be very popular anyway.

Despite my love of Cajun food, however, I’d never cooked it before. So I searched online and finally found a good looking recipe to try. Sadly though I lacked the necessary spices to cook the food, and some of the spices I needed are not readily available in Japan. So I stashed the recipe until a later time when I had the necessary spices.

Last winter, when Hisa and I were visiting my family in the States, I bought some Creole seasoning to bring back with us. Since then it’s been sitting in my kitchen unused (opps), but I found the jambalaya recipe from last year the other day, so I finally got around to cooking jambalaya last night! And it was good! Hooray!

As I’m sure many of you know, there’s always a bit of trepidation when cooking something completely new for the first time. You never really know if it’s going to come out well or not. That’s part of the risk, but also part of the excitement of experimenting with new dishes and recipes. It’s always much more gratifying when the experiment turns out well though, rather than the failed experiments that still get put on the dinner table  (and believe me there have been several). I was quite happy that this new recipe turned out very well though!

This recipe is based off of a jambalaya recipe by Emeril Lagasse here.

Jambalaya (serves 2 – 3)

  • 1 c. shrimp, peeled, deveined and chopped
  • 1 large chicken breast, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 Tbsp Creole seasoning
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 diced onion (or 1 whole small onion)
  • 1 green bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 c. celery, diced
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tomato, chopped (or 1/2 can of diced tomatoes)
  • 1 bay leaves
  • 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp. Tobasco sauce
  • 3/4 c. uncooked rice
  • 3 c. chicken stock
  • 5 ounces Andouille sausage, sliced
  • salt and pepper
  1. In a small bowl, mix the chicken, shrimp, and creole seasoning so that the meat is well coated with the seasoning. Set aside.
  2. Heat oil in a large skillet over med-high heat. Add the onion, celery, and green pepper. Cook until onion turns translucent, about 3 – 4 minutes.
  3. Add the garlic, tomatoes, bay leaves, Worcestershire sauce, and Tobasco. Mix well.
  4. Add the rice and chicken broth. On medium heat, cook rice, stirring occasionally, until it becomes tender, about 15 minutes.
  5. Add the chicken and shrimp mixture and the Andouille sausage, and continue cooking until the chicken & shrimp are completely cooked, about 10 minutes.
  6. Season with salt and pepper. Add more creole seasoning or Tobasco to taste.

I served it with a side of fried okra, because fried okra makes everything better. Especially jambalaya!

Entry filed under: Chicken, Pork, Recipes, Seafood. Tags: , , , , , .

Menu-plan Monday I joined a karate dojo today

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. itsybitsybrianna  |  May 11, 2011 at 11:01 am

    I’ve never had any sort of jambalaya because most of the recipes include meats that I don’t eat! I only eat Chicken pretty much. I also eat shrimp, as well as fish. So, I’m thinking I might just have to try this recipe!
    xoxo
    bB
    Please stop by and say hi
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

    Reply
    • 2. The Joyful Kitchen  |  May 11, 2011 at 5:08 pm

      You should give it a try! My husband and I both liked it. If you can’t eat sausage, you can just leave it out when you make it. It’ll taste just as good! Thanks for stopping by~!

      Reply
  • 3. Menu-plan Monday | The Joyful Kitchen  |  May 19, 2011 at 11:16 am

    […] The Joyful Kitchen Skip to content HomeAbout ← Chicken Cobb Salad and Homemade Honey Mustard Dressing Jambalaya → […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives


