Menu-plan Monday

May 10, 2011 at 9:13 am Leave a comment

All of the fun Hisa and I had last week left me extremely pooped out over the weekend. Fortunately, we didn’t have anything vital we had to do, so we were able to rest over the weekend. Man…that makes me feel old!

In the mornings, I usually hear Hisa get up and start getting ready, then I get up. This morning, however, I heard nothing. I was out cold until Hisa came over and woke me up right before going went to work. Needless to say, I was surprised I hadn’t woken up since the curtains were open, and he had gotten dressed and eaten breakfast while watching TV, all three feet away from my sleeping self.

Oh well. We all need to catch up on our sleep sometime, right?

I tend to sleep a lot though. I sleep an average of nine hours a night, and if I don’t get that much, I’ll feel sleepy and tired the next day. Is this just me? I always hear people saying things like, “Oh yeah, I sleep about 5 hours a night,” or “As long as I have 6 hours, I’m good”. I admit, I feel a little sheepish when I then add, “Uh, I sleep about 9 hours a night”. People are always surprised that I sleep that much, and I almost feel that they think I’m wasting precious time to sleep so much.

Am I weird for sleeping that much? Am I the only one who requires 9 hours of sleep a night, and actually makes it a priority to get a full night’s sleep every night? Because if I don’t get enough sleep at night, the next day I’m tired, cranky, don’t want to do anything I need to do, and basically hate the world. I’m also that way in the morning before I have my coffee. Once I’ve had my coffee though, all is well (if I’ve had my 9 hours of sleep).

What do you think? How much sleep do you usually get? Does anyone else require 8 – 9 hours of sleep a night to function properly?

Due to my tired, recovering-from-Golden-Week self, I’m actually posting this week’s menu plan on Tuesday morning here in Japan. But it’s only Monday evening in the U.S., so that still counts as Monday, right? I thought you would agree! Bwaha!

Menu Plan for May 9 – 13

  • Nachos and veggie enchilada soup
  • Jambalaya and fried okra
  • Japanese curry rice and salad
  • Meatloaf, fried potatoes, and roasted sesame asparagus
  • Japanese omelet rice (omuraisu) and miso soup

Have a great week everyone, and be sure to get enough sleep!

Entry filed under: Menu Plan Monday. Tags: , .

Chicken Cobb Salad and Homemade Honey Mustard Dressing Jambalaya

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives


