Honey Wheat Sourdough Bread

April 21, 2011 at 1:07 pm Leave a comment

I am now the proud owner of a construction helmet.

OK, so it’s not really a construction helmet, it’s just a white helmet, but I suppose it could be used as a construction helmet.

And actually, I’m not the owner. I’m just borrowing it until the danger of big after shocks pass (if that ever actually happens).

Hisa has been worried about me being at home by myself a lot when there are still big after shocks every now and then. He worries about things falling on my head a lot. When we’re asleep at night, if there’s an after shock, he automatically pulls his heavy blanket over my head. If there’s an after shock during the day when he’s home, he pulls me toward him, holds me close and places a hand on top of my head. Although this is very sweet and cute, and makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside, I don’t think his hand is going to help a whole lot if something falls on my head.

I think he was feeling the same way, because a week or so ago, he told me that he thought we should buy an emergency helmet for me in case there’s a big after shock while I’m home. Although I figured I was fine without one (I can always hide under the table), I knew it would help him to not worry about me as much, so I agreed.

When last weekend rolled around, we went in search of a helmet. Unfortunately, it seems that everyone had the same idea waaaaay ahead of us, because everywhere we went was sold out of helmets, and looked like they’d been sold out for awhile.

I shrugged and thought, “oh well”, and thought that was that, but earlier in this week, after Hisa came home from work, right as we were sitting down to dinner he whipped out a spanking new shiny white helmet.

“Where’d you get that?” I asked.

“I stole it from the lab!” he declared with a devious look.

“Riiiiight.”

“Okay, not really. Dr. T has had it in his office forever and never uses it, so I asked him if I could borrow it. He said sure.” he told me.

“Nice!” I replied, and preceded to try on and model the helmet for Hisa at the dinner table.

And that is how I got my purty white construction emergency helmet.

Aren’t you jealous?!

That’s okay. I would be too.

Maybe someday you can have a shiny white helmet too.

I finally got around the baking actual bread with my sourdough starter!

And it’s great!

I have to admit, I was a little intimidated about making sourdough bread with my starter for the first time.

What if it didn’t rise?

What if it was too sour and inedible?

What if it didn’t rise?!

I found a easy looking recipe though, and decided to bite the bullet and make bread.

And it rose! And it isn’t too sour! At least, for me it isn’t too sour. I think Hisa was a little surprised by the tangy kick, having never had sourdough bread before. His first words after he tasted it for the first time was “Suppai!” which is the Japanese word for “sour”, hehe. Maybe next time I’ll try to make it less sour for him. I’m just thrilled it rose, and I’m shamelessly proud of myself for making bread out of essentially nothing but flour and water. Yay me!

I’ve noticed that it really is easier to digest like they say. Sometimes after having bread, I feel like I have a brick in my stomach, but I haven’t had that feeling with this bread. Hooray for lactic-acid fermentation!

The recipe I used is from the blog, heartland Renaissance. It’s a great blog if you’ve never checked it out, and the writer has a lot of great sourdough recipes.

The recipe I used is here.

Here’s my version of it. Enjoy!

Honey Wheat Sourdough Bread

  • 1 c. sourdough starter (mine is a whole wheat starter)
  • 2 c. milk (or water)
  • 1/4 c. honey
  • 6 c. whole wheat flour, bread flour, or a mix
  • 2 tsp. sea salt
  • 6 Tbsp. unsalted butter (room temp.)
  1. Night before: In a large bowl, make a sponge by mixing the starter, milk, and two c. of flour. Cover and leave in a warm place overnight.
  2. Day of: Stir sponge. Add in honey, eggs, and mix until well incorporated. Add flour, salt, and butter, and mix well.
  3. Pour out dough onto a lightly floured surface. Knead dough until smooth and elastic, about 5 to 7 minutes. Use only enough flour to keep the dough from sticking to your work surface, and try not to over knead the dough (unlike yeast bread in which a lot of kneading is good).
  4. Transfer dough to a lightly oiled bowl. Cover and let rise in a warm place til double in size, 2 – 4 hours.
  5. Punch dough down. Pour out onto lightly floured surface and cut dough in half. For each half, flatten it down into a rectangle, pressing any air bubbles out with your hands. Gradually roll up the dough like a jelly roll, pressing out air bubbles after each roll. When complete, pinch the sides and seams closed with your fingers.
  6. Place each roll of dough into a greased 9 x 5 in. bread pan, cover, and let rise in a warm place til double in size, 1 – 3 hours.
  7. Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
  8. Bakes loaves for 30 – 40 minutes (mine only took about 25 minutes, so it really depends on your oven), or until golden brown, and bottom of pan sounds hollow when tapped. Be careful not to over bake or the bread will be dry.

Entry filed under: Baking, Bread, Recipes, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , .

Homemade Hamburger Buns Roast Chicken & Veggies

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives


