Asian Lettuce Wraps

April 15, 2011 at 8:26 pm 3 comments

Yay! It’s Friday! *does TGIF dance*

For whatever reason, I’ve mistakenly thought that everyday this week was Friday, so I’m especially glad this week that today, it is indeed Friday. It’s always a pain when you wake up in the morning thinking it’s Friday, and then suddenly realize it’s a weekday earlier in the week. The opposite, however, is awesome. You know when you wake up Saturday or Sunday morning and think it’s a week day, and you have to wake up? And then you suddenly realize it’s actually Saturday/Sunday, and you can go back to sleep. Best realization ever!

I tried out a new recipe for dinner last night, courtesy of Our Best Bites. If you’ve never checked it out, it’s a great food blog done by two lovely ladies. I decided to try a recipe I found on their site for Asian Lettuce Wraps, and it turned out great! Hisa and I both really liked them.

We had to skip the cilantro (hard to come by in Japan, and expensive when you can find it), but they were still really good. A warning though, these are pretty messy to eat, whatever you’re level of lettuce wrapping (I’m a pretty good lettuce wrapper if I do say so myself, but they were still pretty messy). It’s totally worth making them, however, because they’re so good! Next time I make them (and there will be a next time), I think I’m going to try adding some peanuts to the chicken mix.

I served the lettuce wraps with a vegetable soup, but they’d also go great with steamed rice.

Check out the recipe here.

Happy cooking, and have a great weekend!

Entry filed under: Beef, Chicken, Chinese food, Pork, Recipes. Tags: , , , .

Homemade Tiramisu Menu Plan Monday for April 18 – 22

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Emily  |  April 19, 2011 at 3:29 am

    Yum! These look great! I love lettuce wraps.

    Reply
    • 2. The Joyful Kitchen  |  April 19, 2011 at 8:22 am

      Thanks! I love lettuce wraps too! They’re so versatile and delicious, yet (usually) healthy.

      Reply
  • 3. Menu Plan Monday | The Joyful Kitchen  |  May 19, 2011 at 11:10 am

    […] Asian lettuce wraps and baked sweet potatoes […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives


