My new container herb garden

April 14, 2011 at 12:20 pm 4 comments

Last Sunday, Hisa and I went to the garden center so I could get the things I needed to create my own mini-herb garden on our balcony. Hisa didn’t quite understand why I needed to plant a herb garden on our balcony when we’re moving back to the U.S. at the end of this year (understandable). I explained that the herbs will be for cooking with throughout the summer, and cooking with fresh herbs is so much better than dried herbs (most of the time). Plus it’s sooo much cheaper to grow your own. I’m not sure if I got across to him, but he doesn’t seem to mind my mini-gardening adventure.

So there we were Sunday in the garden center, surrounded by hundreds of flowers. I just have to say, I love flowers. I love them any time of the year, but I especially love them in the spring. So while Hisa was content to walk around, quietly admiring the flowers in a dignified, manly way, I was overjoyed to be surrounded by so many flowers and plants, and it took every ounce of self-control to keep myself from running through the aisles with my arms spread out wide Julie Andrews (The Sound of Music) style, singing at the top of my lungs. Fortunately for those around me, I managed to resist the urge, but I did have a definite bounce in my step.

After about an hour, I got the herbs and supplies I wanted (except for oregano and cilantro, which they were out of. Boo.), and we headed home.

The next morning, I transplanted my herbs into the containers I bought, and fertilized and watered them. I also photographed them for your viewing pleasure, of course!

In the left, round pot is basil. In the top box, left to right, are mint, peppermint, and spearmint. In the bottom box are sage, thyme, and rosemary.

It’s simple, but nice for a little container herb garden, no?

Someday, I dream of having a huge vegetable garden like this one.

…and chickens

…and goats

…and maybe some horses too

I wonder if Hisa will mind?

For now, however, I’ll make do with my little container herb garden.

Entry filed under: Gardening, Life. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Quiche with Whole Wheat Crust Homemade Tiramisu

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dilip  |  April 14, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    Hi Rachel,
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on herbs and gardening. Japan is a country I find fascinating especially the people. I wish them well in these trying times.

    I too have a mini herb garden in India. It will be nice to know a few uses of fresh oregano. Here people seem to prefer dried oregano 😦

    Wish you happy and healthy gardening.

    Reply
    • 2. The Joyful Kitchen  |  April 14, 2011 at 5:22 pm

      Thanks Dilip!
      I mainly use oregano for Italian dishes (pizzas pasta sauces, grilled meats) and some Mexican dishes, but really, fresh oregano can be used in any dish that calls for dried oregano. You just need to increase the amount used. 🙂
      Happy gardening to yourself as well!

      Reply
  • 3. sms  |  April 16, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    You have a amazing flair of drafting.Good Luck and keep going.And yes i have digg your site thejoyfulkitchen.wordpress.com .

    Reply
    • 4. The Joyful Kitchen  |  April 19, 2011 at 12:30 pm

      Opps. Actually, I didn’t draw that picture. I found it online. I believe the picture is originally from Better Homes & Gardens magazine. They have a lot of garden plan pictures such as this one. I’m glad you like my blog though! The food photos are all mine! lol.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives


