Homemade Tiramisu

April 14, 2011 at 12:54 pm Leave a comment

I don’t remember the first time I ever had tiramisu, but I know I’ve loved it from the first time I tried it.

But seriously, is there anyone who doesn’t like tiramisu?

Mmmmm, tiramisu….

When it comes to deserts, I’m usually a devout chocolate-dessert eater, but there’s something magical about the combination of flavors and creamy, cool smoothness of tiramisu (I feel the same way about cheesecake, but I’ll save that for another day).

Although Japan has a plethora of French desserts available to the hungry consumer, there is (from my perspective) a sad lack of American and Italian desserts available here.

Sadly, that includes tiramisu. I’ve never seen it here in Japan before (albeit I’ve haven’t been to every store, cake shop, and Italian restaurant in Japan either), so when my husband asked for tiramisu for his birthday, I decided to make it myself.

**update** My husband informed me that, actually, tiramisu is super popular in Japan, and has been so since sometime during the 90’s. I obviously just didn’t notice. My bad!

If you have the right ingredients and an electric mixer, tiramisu is quite easy to make, and trust me, it’s so worth making.

Tiramisu

  • 3/4 c. espresso
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1/4 c. sugar
  • 1/4 c. marsala wine
  • 225 grams mascarpone cheese
  • 1/2 c. whipping cream (not whipped cream, and definitely not cool whip)
  • About 20 ladyfinger cookies
  • 1 Tbsp cocoa powder
  1. Prepare the espresso. Dissolve 1 tsp of sugar in it, and set aside to cool to room temperature.
  2. Beat the egg yolks in a double broiler until they become fluffy. Beat in the 1/4 c. sugar and the marsala wine.
  3. Transfer the bowl over a pan of simmering water and whisk the mixture until it thickens into a cream (just before boiling, when small bubbles appear).
  4. With a rubber spatula, mash the mascarpone cheese in a bowl until it becomes creamy. Add the egg/sugar/marsala wine mixture into the cheese and beat mixture until well combined.
  5. Whip the whipping cream in a separate bowl until light and fluffy. Fold the whipped cream into the filling until smooth.
  6. Lightly soak the ladyfingers in the espresso mixture one at a time. Place half of them in one layer on the bottom of a serving dish.
  7. Distribute half of the filling in an even layer over the ladyfingers. Repeat with a second layer of ladyfingers and the rest of the filling.
  8. Refrigerate for 3 – 4 hours. Sprinkle cocoa on top before serving.

Entry filed under: Desserts, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

My new container herb garden Asian Lettuce Wraps

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives


