Menu Plan Monday

April 11, 2011 at 2:18 pm Leave a comment

Do you plan your meals for the week ahead of time?

If not, you should. It will save you a lot of time and moments like these…

“What should I cook for dinner tonight…?”

“Maybe I can make ____ !”

“No wait, I made that the other night.”

“Hmmmm, maybe ______…..”

“No wait, I’m out of ______.”

“I suppose I could make ____ if I stop by the store and get _____…”

“Man, I really don’t want to go by the store on my way home…”

“@#$%*&!”

etc.

It’s because of moments like these that you should make weekly menu planning your new best friend. Trust me on this.

Here’s how it works.

One day of the week, sit down and figure out what your going to cook for the entire week, and write it down. Then go to the grocery store, get everything you’ll need, and viola! You’re ready to go for the entire week! No more moments of thinking “OMG, What am I going to cook?!” while rummaging through you cupboard/refrigerator/freezer in a pre-dinner panic. Planning what your going to cook ahead of time, really does make life more simple.

As for me, I didn’t use to plan my meals for the week ahead of time. My husband and I always go grocery shopping for the week on Sunday, but I would inevitably have to go back a couple times during the week to get random things I needed for dinner. Eventually, I decided that was stupid, so on Saturday or Sunday, before going to the grocery store, I started sitting down and deciding what I was going to make for the entire week. It keeps things much simpler.

If you have a hard time thinking of things you usually cook, make an index of all the meals you usually make (including which are family/kids’ favorites). Try looking through cookbooks or food blogs and finding new recipes to try. After you’ve been doing this awhile, you can just look at past food plans to see what things you haven’t cooked for awhile. It gets much easier to do over time.

For more info and tips on menu planning, or for tips on organizing just about anything, visit I’m an Organizing Junkie, or visit Say Mmm for online menu planning tools and tips.

Breakfast at our place is a casual affair, so I don’t plan meals for that. My husband and I usually just help ourselves to cereal/oatmeal/toast/yogurt/fruit. As for lunch, my husband’s company has a cafeteria, so he eats there. I usually either have left-overs from the previous night’s dinner (if there are any), or whip up something like a salad or sandwich. So for my menu plans, I just plan dinner. If you have kids, and are feeding them three times a day, I would definitely try to plan all three meals for every day of the week.

So here’s my meal plan for this week:

  • Fish chowder and scones
  • Asian lettuce wraps and baked sweet potatoes
  • Shrimp pasta in tomato-cream sauce and salad
  • Gyu-don (Japanese simmered beef and onions over steamed rice), steamed spinach, and miso soup

I usually plan dinner for Monday – Friday, but my husband is going to a welcome party for new employees this Wednesday, so I’ll be on my own for dinner, and, thus, making something simple for myself or ordering a freakin’ huge pizza that I will devour by myself, followed by a pint of Haagen-Dazs and a Veronica Mars marathon. *ahem* Saturday nights, we usually go out for dinner, and Sunday nights, my husband always makes dinner (which I love more than you can possibly imagine).

Do you make menu plans? If so, what’s yours for this week?

Entry filed under: Menu Plan Monday. Tags: , , .

Beef Stroganoff Quiche

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives


