What happens when a 7.4 magnitude earthquake occurs while your sleeping

April 8, 2011 at 3:07 pm Leave a comment

If you watched the news recently, you may have seen that Japan was hit by a 7.4-magnitude earthquake late last night. While not as big as the original 9.0-magnitude quake on March 11, I think this has been the biggest after shock to date. Fortunately, no one died, there was no dangerous tsunami, and the Fukushima nuclear power plant was unaffected. They did lose power in some areas up north, but that’s about the worst of it I think.

You know, I think I’m not alone when I say this, but I’m seriously getting tired of these after shocks. It’s been almost a month since the earthquake, and you think they would’ve died down by now, but they just keep on coming. They have been gradually getting less strong and less frequent, but then a large after shock will occur out of the blue (case in point, last night’s quake).

Okay, so here’s how things went down at our place last night.

My husband and I were both pretty tired last night, so we decided to go to bed early. The quake occurred about an hour after we’d gone to bed (around 11:45 – 11:50pm I think).

Now, if you’ve ever been awoken about an hour or so after you’ve gone to sleep, it’s an extremely disorienting feeling. Add a large earthquake to that, and you’re just asking for trouble.

To put it mildly, I woke up in a disoriented panic. My first moments of consciousness were filled with sleepiness and confusion, immediately followed by the realization that everything was shaking… a lot. I think my actual thought at the time was something like, “HOLYCRAPTHEEARTHISSHAKING!!”

Still in a disoriented panic, I turned to my husband and began shaking him frantically yelling something like, “WHY ARE YOU SLEEPING?!?!?” without realizing that he was, in fact, awake (did I mention that I was disoriented?). My husband, always the rational one, simply pulled me down underneath his futon, and stuffed my head underneath him to protect me from possible falling objects/debris. I took that opportunity to cling to him like a barnacle on a whale until the quake ended.

When the quake finally did end, I realized I couldn’t breath with my head stuff under my husband under his futon, so I released my death-grip on my husband and came up for air.

After a few moments, I said something greatly profound like, “That was scary…”. My husband grunted his agreement, and then we both rolled over and went back to sleep.

We both ended up having a bad’s night sleep as a result of the earthquake, so we were both pretty sleepy this morning. Never the less, the first thing we both did when we got up, was check out cell phones to see if we’d received a frantic text message from my dad. Surprisingly, neither of us had. I later received my frantic text message around 9:30 am, but fortunately, by then I’d already emailed my family and posted on facebook that we were fine.

And that is how the 7.4 quake went down at our place.

Please let that be the last time that ever happens.

Please…?

 

Entry filed under: Japan, Life. Tags: , , , , .

Sweet & Sour Chicken and Veggie Stir-Fry Beef Stroganoff

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives


