Beef Stroganoff

April 8, 2011 at 3:44 pm 1 comment

There are a lot of people who have fond child-hood memories of home-cooked beef stroganoff that their moms made when they were kids.

I’m not one of those people. My mom probably made beef stroganoff at some point, but it was definitely a rare thing, as my dad is a vegetarian, and, thus, doesn’t do the whole beef thing (my mom made many other wonderful dishes for us growing up though).

A month or so back, however, for whatever reason, I decided I really wanted to eat beef stroganoff. Having never made beef stroganoff, I researched a bunch of recipes and found something that would work.

Now, if you live in Japan like me, you may be thinking, “But wait! Beef stroganoff! That has sour cream in it! This is Japan! I can’t get sour cream here!” If you live in Japan, but you do have access to sour cream that doesn’t cost an arm and a leg, I hate you (not really, but I do want you to give me all of your sour cream *desperate eyes*.).

Anyway, if you don’t have access to sour cream, or simply don’t want to use it because of it’s fat content, you can substitute the sour cream for yogurt (greek yogurt is especially good for this, because of it’s thickness). You really can’t tell much difference, other than the fact that the dish won’t be as rich.

One more thing, people seem to use egg noodles for beef stroganoff most of the time, but pasta works just as well.

This recipe seems to originate from an old Better Homes & Garden cookbook, but I’m not sure if it’s exactly like the original recipe.

Beef Stroganoff

  • 4 Tbsp. unbleached flour, divided
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 lb (about 453 grams) beef sirloin steak, cut into 1/4 in. strips
  • 5 Tbsp. butter, divided
  • 1 c. sliced mushrooms
  • 1/2 diced onion
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • 1 Tbsp. tomato paste
  • 1 can (2 cups) beef broth
  • 1 c. sour cream or yogurt
  • 3 c. egg noodles or pasta
  • paprika for garnish (optional)
  1. Combine 1 Tbsp flour and the salt. Dredge meat in the flour mixture. Melt two Tbsp of butter in a large skillet over med heat, then and the beef, quickly browning on all sides.Remove from skillet.
  2. Add the mushrooms, onion, and garlic to the skillet, and cook until onion is tender, about 3 -4 minutes. Add 3 Tbsp butter to the pan. When melted, sprinkle 3 Tbsp of flour into the skillet and cook for 1 min. Add the tomato pasta and cook for another minute or two.
  3. Slowly pour in the broth while stirring constantly. Continue stirring until the sauce thickens. Return the meat to the skillet and simmer until the meat is heated through, about 2 minutes.
  4. Combine the sour cream or yogurt with a little bit of the hot broth (this will prevent it from curdling), then gradually add the sour cream to the skillet while stirring. Heat through but do not boil. Serve over cooked noodles/pasta. Garnish with paprika if desired.

Entry filed under: Beef, Pasta, Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

What happens when a 7.4 magnitude earthquake occurs while your sleeping Menu Plan Monday

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. My Grandparents' Kitchen  |  April 8, 2011 at 6:42 pm

    Looks rich and delicious.

    “Many aspects of my method are based on my feeling and experience. For instance, I always give my bird a generous butter massage before I put it in the oven. Why? Because I think the chicken likes it—and, more important, *I* like to give it.”
    – Julia Child

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives


